The Shack has been an Inn for over fifty years. There is a rich history for this 100 acre property along side Robinsons Lake in Jugville, Michigan. Read on....
The Shack property originally housed a shingle mill that was built at Robinson Lake in 1880 by a Mr. E. Francisco. It is believe to have been in operation only one year since it did not show up on the 1881 assessment list. Shingle "Bolts" were still laying around the area into the 1940's. These "Bolts" were 15" sections cut off the stumps after the trees had been harvested.
Fred Daenzer built a sawmill at Robinson Lake in 1901 which operated for several years.
In the early 1920's, George Graves purchased the property and built a small log cabin which burned down about 1928. He then built a larger one which he called "The Shack", which burned down in 1937. He began at once to rebuild and completed the structure in 1942. He was a large furniture manufacturer and dealer. He used "The Shack" to entertain business clients and other guests. On the shore opposite of the lake from The Shack the Jugville store came into being named after the small community along the lake.
We purchased "The Shack" Bed & Breakfast in 1976. At that time it had six sleeping rooms and a small dining room.We started taking in guests in 1978 and treated them to a Banana Split at 9 P.M. each night and a breakfast in the morning.In 1989 we added a large dining room, 20 more sleeping rooms (6 with hot tubs) and two conference rooms. In 1992 we remodeled the original part of the lodge and changed five of the original rooms into Hot Tub Rooms.
The Shack History
And then along came the Granary, The O' Hay Corral", "The Livery" and the Museum
In 1995 we added a new building which we call "The Granary" which has eight real plush rooms with hot tubs and fireplaces in each room. At that time we had a total of 20 rooms of which eleven had hot tubs and eight have hot tubs and fireplaces.
In 1996 we added a small outdoor chapel and improved the trails in the woods for the guests to hike or cross country ski.
In 2000 we opened a new building we call "The Livery" with 10 real plush rooms. Each room has a hot tub and a fireplace for a cozy stay. The Livery also has a game room for the guests in The Granary and Livery to enjoy. We also added a covered lakeside lounging area overlooking Robinson Lake for the guest to relax in. We now have a total of forty four (44) rooms.
The Shack is located in beautiful Newaygo County in West Michigan nestled SW of White Cloud,
NE of Fremont, Michigan. Just 44 Miles from Muskegon 65 Miles from Grand Rapids and
35 Miles from Big Rapids, MI. along the shores of Robinson Lake in Jugville, Michigan.
Site Design by BrassWind Designs